A new way to read books

books
A first-world problem I think many of us can relate to is that of being a hard person to buy gifts for. Independent-minded people with good salaries tend to just go out and purchase the things they need, resulting in dear wives/husbands shaking their head and wondering what could possibly be a good gift for their significant other. I always loved receiving books as gifts. Due to the whole cutting down on ‘stuff’ effort, though, buying books became something of a conundrum. If I like a book, I tend to like to hold on to it for reference and re-reading, so reading and then on-selling/giving away was not my preferred solution.

Dear Wife, after a gentle suggestion from me, gave me an ereader for my birthday this year. I don’t want to be a shill, so I won’t tell you which one unless you ask. It’s great, though. I have been taking it just about everywhere. It’s about the same size as a small paperback, and probably about the same weight. Certainly lighter than many of the tomes I read.* Now that I’m unworried by the concern of physical possession/storage/delivery/carrying around of books, I have been reading a lot more. It’s fantastic.

The next step is trying to figure out how to subtly let people know the details of how they can get me ebooks as gifts rather than the dead tree kind…

*Humblebrag! I’m the serious sort, look at the big heavy book I carry around!

Leave a Reply

