Breakfast means oats

muesli
I think very nearly every frugal blogger loves rolled oats. This is a bandwagon I have to admit to jumping on. Although I used to eat eggs for breakfast back when I was getting huge, nowadays I’m muesli man. It helps that I’m living in the country where the stuff was invented.

I still love a good serve of scrambled or fried eggs with bacon, but it’s a weekend breakfast thing now. Oats are faster to prepare, which is pretty important when you’re as slow in the mornings as I am. I want to share with you my personal recipe for a very tasty bowl in the mornings.

It’s simple – mix up 2x500g boxes of rolled oats, about 150g each of slivered almonds, shredded coconut, and diced dried fruit (I usually use apricots), and 50 grams of lightly chopped roasted pumpkin seeds. Keep in mind I say 150g of almonds, etc., but of course I don’t measure and really just throw in an amount that looks good. Keep it all in a big tub and you’ve got breakfast for a couple of weeks.

To get the best out of this recipe, you’ll need to remember to put it in a bowl and soak it the night before (leave it in the fridge). I soak with just enough water to cover, with a squeeze of lemon juice. Milk would probably work just as well. The soaking does something to the texture that makes it creamy and delicious. I reason that it’s all the shredded coconut doing its thing. In the morning, pour over some milk on top, mix it and you’re good.

That’s it! Easy, delicious, healthy.
muesli ingredients

Leave a Reply

